The Committee consists of members of the faculty, administration, service staff and students' representatives. The members of the committee for the current academic year are:

Sr.No Name of members Designation Mobile no
2 Dr. S.B. Bari Principal 9423918023
3 Dr. P. O. Patil Assist Prof 9923484915
4 Mr. G. B. Patil Assist Prof 9764488427
5 Mr. R. E. Mutha Assist Prof 9423189359
6 Mr. V. K. Vhatap Assist Prof 9579917420
7 Mr. C. J. Bhavsar Assist Prof 9764739702
8 Ms. Prachiti Patil Student representative 8624877900


The objectives of the Committee are:

  • Prevent discrimination and sexual harassment against women, by promoting gender amity among students and


  • Make recommendations to the Director for changes/elaborations in the Rules for students in the Prospectus and the

    Bye-Laws, to make them gender just and to laydown procedures for the prohibition, resolution, settlement and prosecution of acts of discrimination and sexual harassment against women, by the students and the employees;

  • Deal with cases of discrimination and sexual harassment against women, in a time bound manner, aiming at

    ensuring support services to the victimized and termination of the harassment;

  • Recommend appropriate punitive action against the guilty party to the Director.

Procedure for Approaching Committee

The Committee deals with issues relating to sexual harassment at the H. R. Patel Institute of Pharmaceutical Education and Research, Shirpur. It is applicable to all students, staff and faculty. A complaint of discrimination or sexual harassment may be lodged by the victim or a third party. A written complaint may be addressed to the Convener of the Committee. If the complaint is made to the Committee members, they may forward it to the Convener of the Committee Against Sexual Harassment.

Here it should be noted that according to the Supreme Court guideline Sexual harassment can be defined as "unwelcome" sexually determined behaviour (whether directly or by implication) as:

  • Physical contact and advances;
  • Demand or request for sexual favours;
  • Sexually coloured remarks;
  • Showing pornography; and
  • Other unwelcome physical, verbal or non-verbal conduct of a sexual nature. (Vishaka judgment by Supreme Court)

The following is also Sexual harassment and is covered by the committee:

  • Eve-teasing
  • Unsavoury remarks
  • Jokes causing or likely to cause awkwardness or embarrassment
  • Innuendos and taunts
  • Innuendos and taunts
  • Gender based insults or sexist remarks
  • Unwelcome sexual overtone in any manner such as over telephone (obnoxious telephone calls) and the like
  • Touching or brushing against any part of the body and the like
  • Displaying pornographic or other offensive or derogatory pictures, cartoons, pamphlets or sayings
  • Forcible physical touch or molestation and
  • Physical confinement against one's will and any other act likely to violate one's privacy.